view profile

Rishikesh, Uttarakhand for Defining Niyama: An Important Aspect of Yoga

Maharshi Patanjali, the pathfinder of yoga defined a blow-by-blow, a guide of 8 limbs so that, a soul can attain a state of pure divinity, where an entity can feel the union of body, soul and mind as a single entity. Niyama, which is basically a set of 5 rules, which is a very important part of the 8 limbs. If you are participating in the 200 hour Yoga Teacher Training in Rishikesh, there is no way that you would not come across the set of Niyama.

To be more specific, Niyama is a Sanskrit term which stands for rules. The rules are very necessary for developing positive conduct in a yoga teacher which he can learn through different observances. If you are a teacher in a yoga training institute you should be able to make your students understand as to the reason why Patanjali did place the practice of Niyama in the so beginning, even before a person learns the basic “pranayama” and “asanas” which are also an equally important part of 8 limbs yoga.

Niyama is important because practising inculcates a positive change in a person’s mind. This positive attitude is necessary to get better of any obstacles that might come in the way of learning the 8 limbs of yoga.

Learning the 5 Details of Niyama in Details:

5 Niyamas can be basically called the fundamental practices that make the body and mind ready before the body takes the spiritual plunge in the deep ocean of Yoga. This list of 5 Niyama is helpful in the development of positive traits in yoga and can help you imbibe the traits of positivity in life. Let us in this article learn the traits in details.

Saucha–This is also known as the purity of mind and body. It is thought of to be the most important factor for maintaining general well-being, health and happiness. The bodily purity, a person can get through daily ablutions, but an inner or mental purity is hard to be achieved and can be only achieved by the conscious practice of meditation.

Santosha–The second rule which leads to Inner happiness or contentment of the soul. It is an act of being content with whatever one possesses & this act of happiness is interpreted as the greatest bliss, the primary joy which can be never be taken away by the toughness and the challenges of life. It is the most important part of self-realization.

Tapas–This is a very important rule taught in any yoga teacher training centre and this includes the removal of impurities from both mind body and soul. Austerity is when the soul learns to bear trouble in the path of self-realization. It teaches us to look at problems with a positive perspective and learn the art of perseverance.

Swadhyaya–Whenever you visit the best yoga retreat in Rishikesh, you will come across Swadhyaya or the study of the self-inquiry. Learning the art of self-devotion involves being aware of the thoughts that are passing the mind both consciously and unconsciously, what body is feeling and the kind of emotions a person is experiencing with the current state of mind.

Iswara Pranidhan – The most important Niyama, which teaches a person to surrender totally to God. This attitude also teaches one to let go of self-ego and the soul automatically becomes a part of karma-yoga.

These 5 rules are the most basic and easiest way to prepare body and mind for better thinking. Learning these Niyamas at 200 hour yoga teacher training in Rishikesh helps a person attain peace of mind. Learning yoga heightens our desire for personal growth.

Where I stayed / started

Hari Om Yoga Vidya School

Have you done this? What can you add to this jrrny?

Related Posts